Planting Seeds

planting_hands300

In the last week-or-so, I’ve read my fair share of those year in review blog posts and articles. Truth be told, I am not a fan. I understand, it’s important to look back and assess where you are in your life. I get it. I’m a huge fan of assessing where you are to get to your next level – whatever that may be.

I take issue with the whole looking back part.

I once heard someone say, “You cannot connect the dots looking forward. You can only connect the dots looking backwards.” This is a quote I gladly cosign.

In the moment or moments it requires you to look back, you have taken your eyes off the road and you could have missed your exit (i.e. opportunity). I say take notes as you go along. Big project? Huge endeavor? – assesses immediately after and take note of what worked and what did not. BAM! And your eyes are still on your road as you continue to move forward toward your goal.

Look forward. Always.

Before my cancer diagnosis, I always had “netiebee’s year in review” and created New Year resolutions (which I never kept, BTW). But it wasn’t until chemo (that bio-tch can teach you lesson like no other) that my thought pattern changed. Unable to move, talk or eat – there wasn’t much I could do but take stock of my life and the goals I did not meet.

I am looking forward to 2015. I planted a lot of seeds in the last four months of 2014 and I am really excited to see them sprout. Some of these seeds will take me out of my comfort zone and make me squirm but I say, “Bring it, Life!” Yeah, I’m stoked now but it may be a different story when I’m actually in the fire. But what doesn’t kill you, always makes you stronger. Right?

So, here’s to looking forward. Here’s to planting seeds. But most importantly, here’s to bringing in 2015 thankful, grateful and ready for whatever life brings.  

Cheers!

Planting Seeds

2 thoughts on “Planting Seeds

Leave a Reply

